A time to write, a time to read

I believe in biorhythms; not from some mystical, California-lifestyle point of view, but from personal awareness and observation.

Sometimes I’m purely in the mood to write. Sometimes I’m purely in the mood to read. I haven’t written a damn word in a month. But I’ve gone through several books.

That can’t be a good pattern for anyone serious about writing novels. Everyone says, you’ve got to write, write, write, regardless of the weather, the life distractions or the psycho-physiological cycles.

Bull shit, I say.

Sometimes, I’m just not in the mood and I’ve found that at times like that when I do write, it turns out to be garbage. So I don’t beat myself up over it. I just ride it out. I’ve been through these cycles too many times before.

At any rate, I’m going to launch into a full-out effort to rewrite and improve my unpublished novel, Eve’s Swath. It’s a great story that I’ve neglected since I launched into my full-out effort on The Murder Plague a year or so ago.

Watch for more about Eve’s Swath here soon.

One thought on “A time to write, a time to read

  1. I agree with you, Scott. My ability to write veers all over the place, depending on what else is on my mind and what time of day it is. And I’m not even doing fiction.

Leave a Reply

